Your Cart

Is It Vegan

/

vegan ingredients

Are Sprinkles Vegan? A Vegan Sprinkle Guide

Posted by Aaron Seminoff on


You’ve just discovered that cashew milk “ice cream” tastes pretty awesome.  Or maybe you’ve perfected your vegan chocolate cupcake recipe.  What’s a better dessert topping than sweet, crunchy, and colorful sprinkles? Sprinkles sound like a no-brainer for vegans, since they seem to be made of not much more than colored sugar. But before you reach for that jar, there's something important you need to know about the ingredients in a typical container of sprinkles.  You might be surprised to learn that they have an insect-derived ingredient that gives them their glossy coating.  Here's what you need to know about sprinkles. Sprinkles Ingredients List Sugar Vegetable oil Cornstarch Confectioner's glaze Dextrin Food coloring Natural and artificial flavor Soy lecithin Carnauba wax...

read entire article