Your Cart

Uh Oh, Are SpaghettiOs Vegan?

Posted by Aaron Seminoff on

Uh-Oh, Are SpaghettiOs Vegan?

A low-cost pasta dish that's enjoyed by diners of all ages, SpaghettiOs might not immediately set off alarms for vegans. After all, it isn't difficult to find delicious pasta meals as a vegan. So, are SpaghettiOs any different? While some variants of SpaghettiOs contain meat, such as the kind with meatballs, vegans still need to be on the lookout for animal products in the Original variety of SpaghettiOs. This includes ingredients such as dairy products and any trace of poultry such as eggs. If you're wondering "are SpaghettiOs vegan?" this guide is just the thing for you.

Spaghettios Ingredients List

  • Water
  • Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste)
  • Enriched Pasta (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Salt
  • Enzyme Modified Cheddar Cheese
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Enzyme Modified Butter
  • Skim Milk
  • Citric Acid
  • Paprika Extract
  • Onion Extract
  • Flavoring

So, Are Spaghettios Vegan?

Sorry, looking over ingredients make it most certainly clear that Spaghettios are not vegan. As you can see, dairy is the main culprit, with milk, butter and cheese making their way into the mixture. This could be something of a surprise, considering that SpaghettiOs might not taste particularly creamy to your taste buds. Regardless, SpaghettiOs are chockful of animal products and are unfortunately not suitable for vegan consumption. However, you shouldn't despair. If you want to stick to your vegan principles but still have a meal that lives up to the taste of SpaghettiOs, we have good news for you. While you can't extract all the milk, cheese and butter from individual cans of SpaghettiOs, you can make your own.

Make Your Own Vegan Spaghettios

Vegan cuisine has come a long way in recent years. One of the best trends is how good chefs and other culinary-minded folk have become at replicating non-vegan dishes with vegan ingredients, including SpaghettiOs. In this entertaining YouTube video, the recipe for vegan SpaghettiOs is given, which you can find summarized below.

Vegan SpaghettiOs Recipe

are spaghettios vegan 


  • Vegan margarine
  • Soy milk
  • Tomato sauce
  • Onion powder
  • Paprika
  • Salt
  • Sugar (two tablespoonfuls)
  • Nutritional yeast
  • Pasta (make sure it's vegan!)

Step 1: Gather two pots for cooking. Boil water for pasta in one pot, and prepare the other pot for the sauce.

Step 2: Pour tomato sauce in pot.

Step 3: Add a small amount of soy milk.

Step 4: Add a dash of onion powder, paprika and salt.

Step 5: Add a spoonful of margarine.

Step 6: Add nutritional yeast and sugar.

Step 7: Bring sauce to a boil, mix together and add to pasta when ready. Store any unused sauce and/or pasta in containers in your refrigerator.

During the tasting, they mention too much sugar being used. If you are particularly averse to sweet tastes, or just prefer more savory dishes in general, then go as light on the sugar as possible. You might also want to consider adding some vegetables that would mix well with the pasta and sauce, in order to make this an even healthier dish than it already is.


As you can see, SpaghettiOs are not too difficult to make vegan. The animal products in the SpaghettiOs ingredients are not difficult to substitute, and most of the other ingredients can be found easily in your kitchen or at your local grocery store. There is also the added bonus of it being a very easy recipe and not taking much time or costing much to make. You can also try different recipes or experiment with your own ideas to discover the ultimate vegan SpaghettiOs recipe in your mind. Consider consulting with other friends, vegan or non-vegan, and ask them what they think would make your homemade vegan SpaghettiOs really sing.

If you were saddened to hear that SpaghettiOs at the supermarket are not vegan, we hope that you were encouraged by how easy it is to make your own vegan SpaghettiOs. If you have any questions or anything you'd like to say, please leave us a comment. Also, check out other related posts we have on whether certain dishes are vegan. We hope we successfully answered your question of "are SpaghettiOs vegan?" and that you now have a great idea for your next dinner. With vegan SpaghettiOs now under your belt, you hopefully won't be saying "Uh-oh, SpaghettiOs!" ever again.


Related Products

{{/products.length}} {{#products}}

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published