Your Cart

Two Vegan Puff Pastry Brands Worth Trying

Posted by Aaron Seminoff on


Is Puff Pastry Vegan?

Puff pastry is a flaky, light pastry that became popular in France, where it is known as pâte feuilletée. However, old books point to puff pastry originally coming from Muslim Spain. The first recorded puff pastry recipe is found in a Spanish recipe book published in the year 1607. This type of pastry is quite similar to the Middle Eastern phyllo, and many people confuse the two. However, they are distinct: Traditionally, puff pastry is made with just flour, butter, and water, while phyllo also contains oil and sometimes white vinegar or egg yolk.

Puff pastry is incredibly versatile. It is used for both sweet and savory dishes, ranging from appetizers to main courses to desserts. You'll find puff pastry in beef Wellington, sausage rolls, savory pies, strudel, turnovers, and much more. However, since puff pastry is usually made with butter, it is not often vegan. Even those puff pastry brands that don't use butter often use animal by-products. So, it can be pretty hard to find a puff pastry brand that fits into a vegan diet. You may be better off making your own vegan puff pastry rather than trying to hunt down a good brand; the recipe is simple enough to make it worth the time, plus you'll have total control over what goes into it. Nevertheless, there are a small number of vegan puff pastry brands that you can check out if you want.

If you're a baking fanatic, be sure to also check out these vegan chocolate chip brands. They'll come in handy in the kitchen!

Vegan Puff Pastry Brands

Puff Pastry Vegan Brands

Orgran All Purpose Pastry Mix

The other vegan puff pastry brand to know about is Orgran All Purpose Pastry Mix. You can use it to make a wide variety of pastries, including puff pastry. This product is best purchased online. The ingredients in this product are:

  • Maize starch
  • Rice flour
  • Tapioca flour
  • Potato starch
  • Rice bran
  • Yellow pea flour
  • Salt
  • Vegetable gums
  • Calcium carbonate
  • Vegetable monoglycerides

Again, no animal-derived ingredients whatsoever! Compared to the other option, though, it is not quite as nutritious. While Pepperidge Farms Frozen Puff Pastry Sheets is made with vitamin-enriched flour, this dry mix is not. However, some things about Orgran's pastry mix that some people are sure to appreciate are that it's gluten-free, GMO-free, and Kosher.

Pepperidge Farm Frozen Puff Pastry Sheets

Pepperidge Farm, a brand owned by the Campbell Soup Company, makes a frozen puff pastry. You can find it in grocery stores. Its ingredients are:

  • Unbleached enriched wheat flour
  • Water
  • Palm, soybean, and hydrogenated cottonseed oils
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Salt
  • Mono and diglycerides
  • Soy lecithin
  • Malted barley flour
  • Turmeric extract
  • Annatto extract

As you can see, there are no animal products or by-products in this puff pastry. It's also decently nutritious as far as refined carbohydrates go. One serving has 8% DV iron, 4 grams of protein, 2 grams of fiber, and no trans fat. Pepperidge Farm Frozen Puff Pastry Sheets are also Kosher Certified. There are a couple downsides to this product to be aware of, however. It contains palm oil, the production of which is known to be harmful to the environment and to endangered species such as the orangutan. Because the palm oil industry indirectly harms orangutans, some strict vegans avoid it at all costs. However, feel free to use your own judgment; some vegans are much more strict than others, and there is not anything wrong with that as long as we keep sharing our common overall goals.

Is Puff Pastry Vegan

Conclusion

Puff pastry opens doors to limitless possibilities in your baking. However, not all store-bought puff pastry brands are vegan. If you don't feel like making your own from scratch, the vegan puff pastry brands you should try out are Pepperidge Farms and Orgran. And while you're at it, show your support for the vegan cause with an eye-catching printed shirt.

Up Next: Our Favorite Vegan Cream Cheese Brands

{{#products.length}}

Related Products

{{/products.length}} {{#products}}
{{title}}
{{/products}}

Jill

February 9, 2018

I thought mono and diglycerides could be of animal origin. You have to contact the company to find out, and sometimes they don’t know because they have different suppliers.

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published