Your Cart

Are Kit Kats Vegan? Let's Look At The Ingredients!

Posted by Aaron Seminoff on

"Give me a break. Give me a break. Break me of a piece of that.." You know the rest. Kit Kats are one of the most popular candy bars around. Unfortunately, a cursory glance at a Kit Kat's ingredients list will show numerous animal products. Anyone who wants to adhere to a vegan lifestyle should stay away from Kit Kats.

Kit Kat Ingredients

Kit Kat Ingredients List

Here is a rundown of everything that Kit Kats are made of, so that you have a better sense of why, as a vegan, you shouldn't eat them:

  • Sugar
  • Wheat flour
  • Skim milk
  • Cocoa butter
  • Chocolate
  • Palm kernel oil
  • Milk fat
  • Lactose
  • Lecithin (less than 2 percent)
  • PGPR
  • Vanillin, artificial flavor
  • Salt
  • Yeast
  • Baking soda

As you can see, there is prominent dairy inside Kit Kats. Skim milk, cocoa butter and milk fat mean that vegans and those who are lactose intolerant should stay away from Kit Kats.

Vegan Kit Kat Alternatives

Vegan Kit Kats

Kit Kats might not be vegan, but vegan candy bar lovers should not despair. By looking into vegan alternatives, you can make sure your sweet tooth is as satisfied as possible. Whether this means trying new and exciting vegan candy bars or spending time researching and making your own. You can even try your own unique spin on Kit Kats and share them with the world. There's no reason to feel limited as a vegan. We might have to make certain sacrifices for the good of animals and the environment, but that doesn't mean we shouldn't be entitled to a delicious snack, free of guilt. We hope that everyone who gets the chance to enjoy vegan Kit Kats cherishes the opportunity greatly. 

Up Next: Is Taurine Vegan?


Related Products

{{/products.length}} {{#products}}

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published