Are Popsicles Vegan?
Just like Kleenex and Q-Tips, the word Popsicle is actually a brand name that people have come to use for the product itself. Whether you’re talking about actual Popsicles, or some kind of frozen fruit-flavored ice on a stick, the question is the same: Are popsicles vegan? Check out our favorite organic vegan popsicles here!
Starting with Popsicle brand ice pops, if you’ve spent any time in your grocery store’s freezer section, you know that there are many different flavors of Popsicles. But as long as it’s frozen fruit juice and sugar it’s got to be vegan, right? Let’s take a look at the list of ingredients.
Here’s the ingredients for Orange-Cherry-Grape Popsicles. Nothing immediately jumps out as an animal-based product. While the package does not say these are vegan, the Popsicle website notes that Orange-Cherry-Grape Popsicles do not contain milk or eggs. A look at PETA's "Accidentally Vegan" food list shows that Popsicle brand ice pops are not on their list of vegan frozen desserts, although other brands are.
Even some brands with a very short list of ingredients (like the above Outshine brand lemon pops) do not say they are vegan on the package or company website and are not on PETA’s list. It’s possible that some aspect (ingredient or manufacturing) of even simple pops like these are not vegan. The ice pops on PETA’s list are Luigi’s Real Italian Ice and Minute Maid Frozen Juice Bars and Soft Frozen Lemonade/Limeade.
What’s the best way to make sure that your popsicles are 100% vegan…and as healthy as possible? Simply juice your own fresh fruit, pour into ice pop molds, and freeze! Make sure to share your favorite popsicle recipes with us in the comments and check out our article on our 23 favorite vegan cereal brands!