Your Cart

Is Dr Pepper Vegan? A Look At This Tasty Soda

Posted by Aaron Seminoff on


If you've been vegan of any amount of time, you most likely know that animal products can be hidden in the most unexpected of places. Though it's well worth it, reading labels has to become a habit for those who are committed to the vegan way of life. And while you might think that soda wouldn't contain animal products, it is entirely possible for sodas and other drinks to be made with products derived from animals.

You may question how a soda could not be vegan. After all, it isn't made with any obvious animal ingredients. But many types of sodas actually contain ester gum, which is a thickening agent. This gum comes from glycerol, which is often derived from animals. Luckily, if a soda contains ester gum, this ingredient will be listed on the label, so you will be able to tell what to avoid.

 

What's In Dr. Pepper?

Dr Pepper Ingredients

If you're a Dr. Pepper fan who has recently become vegan, you might want to know if your favorite drink is compatible with your values. Plenty of people search "is Dr Pepper vegan," although it is important to realize that Dr Pepper ingredients may vary slightly based on your country. For instance, Dr. Pepper in Great Britain does not contain high fructose corn syrup, as Dr. Pepper does in America.

Let's look at the ingredients below- any non-vegan ingredients are in bold:

  • Carbonated water
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Caramel color
  • Phosphoric acid
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Sodium benzoate
  • Caffeine


As you can see, all ingredients in Dr. Pepper are vegan, making it cruelty-free and compatible with the vegan lifestyle.

Are There Similar Products Available That Are Also Vegan?

No matter how much you love Dr. Pepper, you may want to add some variety to your life and choose alternatives that are also vegan. Additionally, you may want to reduce your sugar intake by choosing alternatives that are healthier. Below are some options for when you want something a little different (that is still vegan).

LIVE Kombucha Pure Doctor Soda

While not a soda in the traditional sense, this probiotic drink is an excellent way to ensure you're getting adequate B-vitamins and other necessary nutrients. Kombucha's high levels of glucosamines may support joint health, and its impressive antioxidant content can support your immune system and general health.

While kombucha, a fermented tea drink, has been around for centuries, the LIVE brand has added a new twist by developing a line of kombucha sodas. In particular, the Pure Doctor is modeled after Dr. Pepper. This can be a healthier treat for those who like the unique taste of Dr. Pepper but who want to reduce their sugar intake (and get a better nutritional benefit). This flavor has only five grams of sugar per serving and contains billions of probiotics to promote gut health and general health. The company's line of kombucha sodas also includes a Cola flavor, root beer flavor, limon flavor, ginger flavor, orange flavor, rhuberry flavor, blueberry flavor, and original, so if you want a break from the distinct spice of Dr. Pepper, this brand has you covered with plenty of delicious variations.

Zevia Dr. Zevia Zero Calorie Soda

If you love Dr. Pepper, want a sugarless alternative, and also want to avoid artificial sweeteners, then the Zevia brand's take on the popular Dr. Pepper flavor may just be what you've been looking for. This soda, with its simple ingredient list, is sweetened with stevia leaf extract. Stevia has a glycemic index of zero, which is lower than that of natural sugar. This is ideal for those who are looking to keep their blood sugar stable. This formulation also contains no caramel colorer other dyes, so it's a good choice for those with sensitivity to dyes, or who simply want to keep their diet as natural as possible.

In Summary

Vegan Dr Pepper

 

While you may have already known that some sodas are not suitable for vegans, many people, especially those who have only recently adopted the vegan lifestyle, are often unaware of the myriad ways animal products can sneak into certain products. While Dr. Pepper is vegan and there are similar vegan products you can enjoy, it is possible that some of your other preferred products are actually not vegan. While investigating whether animal products have gone into food, personal grooming products, and beverages may seem time-consuming at first, you will quickly learn what ingredients to look out for. And it's a worthy investment, because you'll be helping make the world a less cruel place (while still enjoying delicious vegan soda).


Plenty of people ask "Is Dr Pepper vegan?" And while Dr. Pepper ingredients are vegan-friendly, many sodas are made with animal products.

 

Up Next: Is Soy Lecithin Vegan? An Additive You Need To Know About

{{#products.length}}

Related Products

{{/products.length}} {{#products}}
{{title}}
{{/products}}

Haniah Davis

August 26, 2017

Thank you for this article! I recently adopted the vegan lifestyle and am still trying to figure out which foods are vegan and which aren`t. Dr. Pepper is my favorite beverage, however I`m working my way towards a more raw diet which don`t include sugary drinks. I appreciate you listing a healthier alternative to Dr. Pepper also, I`ll definitely be trying that drink!

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published