Your Cart

Is Sprite Vegan? Lets Look Closely

Posted by Aaron Seminoff on

The world’s most famous lemon-lime drink was brought to the market by the Coca Cola Corporation in 1961. With time, this crisp and refreshing favorite has expanded to a variety of flavors including cranberry, cherry, and zero versions. The brand features a then-state of the art dimpled bottle featuring a signature green color, Emerald 17-5641. Could this “60’s new age child” be also vegan friendly?

Is Sprite Vegan?

The lack of animal products or animal product derivatives in the manufacturing and production of the Sprite recipe is what would make this a vegan-friendly drink. Keep in mind, however, that veganism is not just about eating: it is a lifestyle devoid of any item, food, or service related in any way to the use of animals for personal gain. This includes the product itself, its production, and the ethos of the corporation that produces it.

Therefore, to determine if a product is vegan it is important to go beyond just checking the label. It also means knowing whether the brand itself promotes humane animal treatment.

Sprite Ingredients List

  • Carbonated water
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Citric acid
  • Natural fruit flavor enhancers
  • Sodium citrate
  • Sodium benzoate (to protect taste)

As per the Coca Cola Corporation, Sprite does not constitute a significant source for fat, calories, cholesterol, vitamins (A and C), calcium or iron. Its active nutrients per can include:

Sodium -65mg
Sugars -38g
Protein -0g

The total carbohydrate content from Sprite comes from its sugar, putting it at a total of 38 grams of carbohydrates. Still, the actual ingredients are animal product-free. With no dyes used during production, gelatin, or glycerol, Sprite can be considered to abide by the tenets of veganism.

Sprite Ingredients List

Vegan Sprite Alternatives

Most Coca Cola Corporation soda products are considered vegan including Sprite and its Cherry, Cranberry and Zero variations. Also Coca Cola, Diet Coke, Coca Cola Life and Coke Zero; Vanilla, Cherry, Cherry/Vanilla, and Lemon/Lime Diet Coke.

Other corporations that produce drinks with no animal by-products include Pepsi and all of its full-sugar varied forms, 7UP, Dr Pepper, Blue Sky Soda, Schweppes, Make-your-own soda with fruit and Trader Joe's fizzy drinks, which are made with seltzer water and fruit juice.

The important thing with sodas is to watch for ingredients such as the ester gum food stabilizer, which contains glycerol that may or may not proceed from animals. Another thing to watch for is carmine, a natural dye that is extracted from the Cochineal bug.

Vegan Sprite


Sprite can be considered a vegan drink because it does not contain any animal products in its basic recipe. In addition to that, neither its manufacturing nor its production involves the inclusion of any animal derivative, or the use of any byproduct of an animal, to make the product.

The filtration process is not sifted through or touched by anything made with or by animals. Even the sugar contained in the drink comes from high fructose corn syrup, citric acid, sodium citrate and benzoate to protect taste.

In all, Sprite can be enjoyed by millions of people who adhere to the vegan lifestyle, and it is free from anything that would disagree from such a way of life. All of this being said, check out other ingredients within the basic Sprite recipe and make sure that, vegan or not, they are nutritionally valuable for you. Also watch for calories, sugar and sodium while following a vegan diet. Avoiding the consumption of animal products does not guarantee a ticket to good health. Moderation is still the order of the day in all dietary lifestyles.

Sprite Vegan

Up Next: Are Donuts Vegan?


Related Products

{{/products.length}} {{#products}}

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published